Illinois Tech Athletic News 
Baseball - Fri, Mar. 8, 2013
 

Showing the wear and tear of 7 games in 6 days, IIT Baseball dropped both games of a doubleheader against St. Mary's University, losing 12-4 and 15-4.  The unusually cool, rainy and windy weather for Tucson added to the team's troubles, working against the Hawks in potential scoring situations. 

Mike Malfeo continued to have a bright season start, going 2-for-4 in game one, with 2 RBIs, and going 2-for-4 with 2 singles and 1 RBI in game two.  Jon Celestino also stayed hot at the plate during both games.  Celestino, the Hawks first baseman, went 1-for-3 in game one with a double and an RBI.  Just missing the cycle by a homerun in game two, Celestino went 3-for-4, with a single, double, triple and 2 RBIs.

On the mound in game one, freshman Kyle Bledsoe fell short of his performance on the first day of the trip. Bledsoe gave up 11 runs, all earned, over 5+ innings while striking out 2, giving up 15 hits, 3 walks and 1 hit batsman.  John Rotella entered as relief for the fourth time on the trip, pitching 2 innings.  Rotella gave up 1 run earned on 3 hits, 2 strikeouts and 1 hit batsman.  In game two, sophomore Matthew Bishop started, giving up 9 runs, 6 earned, on 7 hits, 2 walks and 1 hit batsman, while striking out 6 over 3 innings.  As relief, Andrew Gustafson threw 3 innings, striking out 4 and giving up 6 runs, 5 earned.

Closing the spring trip, the Hawks look forward to their return to Chicago and the start of conference play.  The IIT Baseball regular season opens on Friday, March 15 at 4pm on the road versus Robert Morris University.

 
 
 
Scoreboard
Today
Baseball
Lakeland College at 1
IIT 10
stats
Lakeland College at 1
IIT 12
stats
Sunday, Apr 13
Baseball
IIT at 3
Rockford College 2
stats - recap
Women's Lacrosse
Concordia University-Wisconsin at 18
IIT 7
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 12
Baseball
IIT at Ppd
Marian College  
IIT at Ppd
Marian College  
Thursday, Apr 10
Baseball
IIT at 9
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology 7
stats - recap
Wednesday, Apr 9
Baseball
IIT at 8
University of Chicago 5
stats - recap
Women's Lacrosse
IIT at 3
Beloit College 19
stats
Monday, Apr 7
Baseball
IIT at 0
Holy Cross College 8
stats
IIT at 1
Holy Cross College 5
stats
Sunday, Apr 6
Baseball
Finlandia University at 3
IIT 7
stats - recap
Finlandia University at 1
IIT 2
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 5
Baseball
Finlandia University at 3
IIT 0
stats - recap
Finlandia University at 1
IIT 2
stats - recap
Men's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Ted Hayden Invitational (@ University of Chicago)
results - recap
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Ted Hayden Invitational (@ University of Chicago)
results - recap
Women's Lacrosse
IIT at 4
St. Mary's 16
stats
Wednesday, Apr 2
Women's Lacrosse
IIT at (2OT) 10
Fontbonne University 11
stats - recap
Sunday, Mar 30
Baseball
IIT vs 7
Robert Morris University-Springfield 2
Played at Southeast HS in Springfield, IL
stats - recap
Today
Men's T & F
IIT at 12:00pm
Cougar Invite (@ Concordia University)
Women's T & F
IIT at 12:00pm
Cougar Invite (@ Concordia University)
Friday, Apr 18
Baseball
Finlandia University at 12:00pm
IIT CST
Finlandia University at Game
IIT 2
Saturday, Apr 19
Women's Lacrosse
University of Dubuque at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Monday, Apr 21
Baseball
Purdue University-North Central at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Purdue University-North Central at Game
IIT 2
Friday, Apr 25
Men's T & F
IIT at 3:30pm
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
Women's T & F
IIT at 3:30pm
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
Saturday, Apr 26
Baseball
IIT at 4:00pm
Maranatha Baptist Bible College CST
IIT at Game
Maranatha Baptist Bible College 2
Sunday, Apr 27
Baseball
IIT at 11:00am
Purdue University Calumet CST
IIT at Game
Purdue University Calumet 2
Wednesday, Apr 30
Baseball
Calvin College at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Calvin College at Game
IIT 2
Friday, May 2
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 3:00pm
IIT CST
Donation Night for the St. James Food Pantry
Saturday, May 3
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 1:00pm
IIT CST
@ US Cellular Field Home of the Chicago White Sox
Friday, May 9
Men's T & F
IIT at  
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
Women's T & F
IIT at  
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
Saturday, Aug 23
Women's Soccer
Benedictine University at 6:00pm
IIT CST