Illinois Tech Athletic News 
Baseball - Tue, Mar. 5, 2013
 

The IIT Scarlet Hawks started their fourth game of the season with an eight-run first inning, but ultimately came up short in a 13-9 loss to the Dakota Wesleyan Tigers.  Senior pitcher John Rotella was again a star in relief over 3 ⅓ innings, giving up no earned runs.

Hawk bats were hot to start the game, led by senior Kevin Glennon, who was 1-for-3 with a double, a walk, an RBI sacrifice fly and 4 RBIs total.  Conner Wiebell was solid in his debut as designated hitter, going 1-for-3 with a single, 2 walks and an RBI.  Sophomore Mike Malfeo went 2-for-4 with 2 singles, a walk and an RBI, while first baseman Jon Celestino continued his streak, going 1-for-4 with a single, a walk and 2 RBIs.  Sophomore Bill Cronin also contributed to the run total, going 2-for-5 with 2 singles and an RBI.

Sophomore Andrew Gustafson made his 2013 pitching debut with a solid performance, giving up just 1 earned run in the first 5 innings.  Gustafson faltered in the sixth inning, allowing 5 runs.  Over his total 5 ⅔ innings pitched, Gustafson gave up 7 runs (6 earned), 9 hits, 2 walks and 1 hit batsmen while striking out 4.   Reliever John Rotella pitched a total of 3 ⅓ innings, allowing 6 runs (0 earned), 5 hits, 1 walk and 1 hit batsmen while striking out 2.

The team was encouraged by the opening offensive outburst, however with defensive leader and motivator Austin Boos injured, the Hawks committed 7 errors, leading to 7 unearned runs.  The Scarlet Hawks look forward to keeping their bats hot and working on fielding skills as part of a winning season.

 
 
 
Scoreboard
Thursday, May 15
Men's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Gregory Invitational (@ North Central College)
results
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Gregory Invitational (@ North Central College)
results
Friday, May 9
Men's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
results
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
results
Saturday, May 3
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 7
IIT 19
@ US Cellular Field Home of the Chicago White Sox
stats - recap
Friday, May 2
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 1
IIT 11
Donation Night for the St. James Food Pantry
stats - recap
Wednesday, Apr 30
Baseball
Calvin College at (8) 10
IIT 5
stats - recap
Calvin College at 13
IIT 0
stats - recap
Sunday, Apr 27
Baseball
IIT at (8) 4
Purdue University Calumet 5
stats - recap
IIT at 0
Purdue University Calumet 6
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 26
Baseball
IIT at 4
Maranatha Baptist Bible College 2
stats - recap
IIT at 5
Maranatha Baptist Bible College 0
stats - recap
Friday, Apr 25
Men's T & F
IIT at 9th of 16
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
results - recap
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
results - recap
Monday, Apr 21
Baseball
Purdue University-North Central at 12
IIT 2
stats - recap
Purdue University-North Central at (5) 8
IIT 8
Game was stopped after completion of 5th due to weather.
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 19
Women's Lacrosse
University of Dubuque at 20
IIT 5
stats
Friday, Apr 18
Baseball
Finlandia University at 6
IIT 12
stats - recap
Finlandia University at 0
IIT 12
stats - recap
Thursday, Apr 17
Baseball
Lakeland College at 1
IIT 10
stats - recap
Saturday, Aug 23
Women's Soccer
Benedictine University at 6:00pm
IIT CST
Sunday, Aug 24
Men's Soccer
Concordia Illinois at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Friday, Aug 29
Men's Cross Country
IIT at 5:00pm
Elmhurst Invite
Women's Cross Country
IIT at 5:00pm
Elmhurst Invite
Saturday, Aug 30
Men's Soccer
IIT vs 3:00pm
Waynesburg College CST
Defiance Tournament in Defiance, OH
Women's Soccer
IIT at 2:00pm
College of Staten Island CST
College of Staten Island Fall Classic (NY)
Sunday, Aug 31
Women's Soccer
IIT vs 2:00pm
John Jay College of Criminal Justice CST
College of Staten Island Fall Classic (NY)
Monday, Sep 1
Men's Soccer
IIT at 11:00am
Defiance College CST
Defiance Tournament in Defiance, OH
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Alverno College at 7:00pm
IIT CST
Friday, Sep 5
Men's Soccer
Andrews University at 3:00pm
IIT CST
Women's Soccer
Albion College at 8:00pm
IIT CST
Saturday, Sep 6
Volleyball
IIT vs  
TBA  
Rose-Hulman Invite
Sunday, Sep 7
Men's Soccer
Finlandia University at 3:30pm
IIT CST
Women's Soccer
St. Mary's at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Volleyball
IIT vs  
TBA  
Rose-Hulman Invite
Wednesday, Sep 10
Men's Soccer
IIT at 7:00pm
Wisconsin Lutheran College CST
Friday, Sep 12
Women's Soccer
Dominican University at 7:00pm
IIT CST
Volleyball
IIT at 2:00pm
Alverno College CST
IIT at 3:45pm
Northland College CST
Saturday, Sep 13
Men's Cross Country
IIT at 11:00am
Concordia University Wisconsin