Illinois Tech Athletic News 
Women's Soccer - Sat, Sep. 12, 2009

The IIT Scarlet Hawks challenged Goshen College on Saturday, September 21st at 1pm. The game was played at IIT's home field where it was warm and sunny. The Hawks were motivated and ready for the match and came away with a 5-0 Victory!


The Scarlet Hawk midfielders created many chances in front of goal straightaway. The IIT offense battered the opposing goalie with many shots but didn't slip one behind her until the 15th minute of the game. Stephanie Salem got control of the ball on the left side of the field and made a great pass to Mary McCabe in the 18-yard box. McCabe was in a great position to score and she shot the ball first time into the back of the net. The second goal of the match also came from McCabe. A foul was called inside the opponent's box, and McCabe stepped up to take the penalty kick. With confidence, she placed the ball into the right corner.

The Scarlet Hawks continued to control Goshen in the second half. The Hawks were connecting as a team and keeping possession of the ball, which led to many goal-scoring situations. The third goal of the match was a brilliant shot by Stephanie Salem. Salem took a cross/shot from the far left side of the field and the ball curved beautifully around the goalie into the top right corner of the goal. Salem scored her second goal of the game soon after in the 60th minute. Right midfielder, Megan Sarratt, got a beautiful cross off from the corner of the field to find Salem inside the box. Salem connected with the ball to score a fierce header in the top right corner of the net. The last goal of the game was scored by freshman, Jaime Ward. Ward used her quick pace on a breakaway to beat the last defender and to slip the ball passed the goalie into the back of the net. This was Ward's first season goal.

IIT was proud of the way they connected with each other during the game. Their possession continues to improve with each game they play. Way to go Scarlet Hawks, with a 5-0 victory!!


 
 
 
Scoreboard
Thursday, May 15
Men's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Gregory Invitational (@ North Central College)
results
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Gregory Invitational (@ North Central College)
results
Friday, May 9
Men's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
results
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Dr. Keeler Invite (@ North Central College)
results
Saturday, May 3
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 7
IIT 19
@ US Cellular Field Home of the Chicago White Sox
stats - recap
Friday, May 2
Baseball
Maranatha Baptist Bible College at 1
IIT 11
Donation Night for the St. James Food Pantry
stats - recap
Wednesday, Apr 30
Baseball
Calvin College at (8) 10
IIT 5
stats - recap
Calvin College at 13
IIT 0
stats - recap
Sunday, Apr 27
Baseball
IIT at (8) 4
Purdue University Calumet 5
stats - recap
IIT at 0
Purdue University Calumet 6
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 26
Baseball
IIT at 4
Maranatha Baptist Bible College 2
stats - recap
IIT at 5
Maranatha Baptist Bible College 0
stats - recap
Friday, Apr 25
Men's T & F
IIT at 9th of 16
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
results - recap
Women's T & F
IIT at No Team Score
Twilight Invitational (@ Benedictine University)
results - recap
Monday, Apr 21
Baseball
Purdue University-North Central at 12
IIT 2
stats - recap
Purdue University-North Central at (5) 8
IIT 8
Game was stopped after completion of 5th due to weather.
stats - recap
Saturday, Apr 19
Women's Lacrosse
University of Dubuque at 20
IIT 5
stats
Friday, Apr 18
Baseball
Finlandia University at 6
IIT 12
stats - recap
Finlandia University at 0
IIT 12
stats - recap
Thursday, Apr 17
Baseball
Lakeland College at 1
IIT 10
stats - recap
Saturday, Aug 23
Women's Soccer
Benedictine University at 6:00pm
IIT CST
Sunday, Aug 24
Men's Soccer
Concordia Illinois at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Friday, Aug 29
Men's Cross Country
IIT at 5:00pm
Elmhurst Invite
Women's Cross Country
IIT at 5:00pm
Elmhurst Invite
Saturday, Aug 30
Men's Soccer
IIT vs 3:00pm
Waynesburg College CST
Defiance Tournament in Defiance, OH
Women's Soccer
IIT at 2:00pm
College of Staten Island CST
College of Staten Island Fall Classic (NY)
Sunday, Aug 31
Women's Soccer
IIT vs 2:00pm
John Jay College of Criminal Justice CST
College of Staten Island Fall Classic (NY)
Monday, Sep 1
Men's Soccer
IIT at 11:00am
Defiance College CST
Defiance Tournament in Defiance, OH
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Alverno College at 7:00pm
IIT CST
Friday, Sep 5
Men's Soccer
Andrews University at 3:00pm
IIT CST
Women's Soccer
Albion College at 8:00pm
IIT CST
Saturday, Sep 6
Volleyball
IIT vs  
TBA  
Rose-Hulman Invite
Sunday, Sep 7
Men's Soccer
Finlandia University at 3:30pm
IIT CST
Women's Soccer
St. Mary's at 1:00pm
IIT CST
Volleyball
IIT vs  
TBA  
Rose-Hulman Invite
Wednesday, Sep 10
Men's Soccer
IIT at 7:00pm
Wisconsin Lutheran College CST
Friday, Sep 12
Women's Soccer
Dominican University at 7:00pm
IIT CST
Volleyball
IIT at 2:00pm
Alverno College CST
IIT at 3:45pm
Northland College CST
Saturday, Sep 13
Men's Cross Country
IIT at 11:00am
Concordia University Wisconsin